Mazda MX-5 Miata banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
409 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, so I'm new to the world of the MX-5. Having previously slated them as "girls' cars", I went for a drive in a friend's Mk2 and I have now come to my senses.

Thing is, I don't have much of a clue about what's what, and what is any good.

I have a ?1500 budget, and want something that is ready to go. I have a Eurotrip planned for the end of June, with the mandatory Nordschleife stop in there, and then I'm thinking about modifying whatever I end up getting into a fast fun second car for the road, and a track car.

I've done a bit of looking, and it seems that unless I want a wreck of a Mk2, then Mk1 is what I'm after. Thing is, do I get a 1.6 or a 1.8, UK or import, and if I'm going to modify it and track day it, which will no doubt involve some interior weight loss, is it worth getting a special edition of some sort? I'm a bit confused, so I thought I'd ask you lot, seeing as you're all very much more familiar with 5s than I am.

Any help will be fab, and if it helps, I will be ready to buy at the end of the month when I get some money from a lot of eBay sales

Thanks in advance,

Paul

·
Registered
2,757 Posts
early 1.6 or later 1.8.

the late 1.6 is the 90bhp version

get a recent import if you can as they tend to be less rusty. Imports generally have an LSD and often come with extras like strut braces and bilstein suspenders.

Limited editions are usually not all that interesting but there are exceptions - the s-special, rs limited and a few others have nice extras.

·
Registered
1,598 Posts
Get whichever one takes your fancy. Most of the 'extras' can usually come up for sale here fairly cheap and bolt straight on. The exception being maybe an LSD.

Personally I would take a nice clean one with few extras than a tattier example with lots of shiney bits.

Just my opinion though.

·
Registered
409 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
OK, thanks guys.