Mazda MX-5 Miata banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So following on from my query posts this will become a how to blog on sills arches and lots and lots of rust repair.. I'm. Not a professional but I do know my way around an mx5. This is my DIY version of the work I hope it helps someone else but please don't copy what I do here blindly I am not a mechanic.

The car before
Automotive tire Wood Bumper Road surface Rim

Automotive tire Tread Tire Wood Wheel

Tire Wheel Automotive tire Hood Tread

Brown Wood Automotive tire Automotive exterior Bumper

Tools I'm using
Angle grinder and cutting discs, twisted wire discs, sand paper, rust eater gel, new pre made weld in panels.

Jacking.... Be careful I couldn't use any of the standard jack points behind the sill as the cars rotten to.... In these areas so Ive jacked up on the diff and subframe as others have posted. Then put axle stands on the ends of the chassis rails under the car, I also have a jack pre set under the diff and some support under the front subframe member but these are not taking any weight they are safety measures incase the axle stands fail. On top of this I also always use the wheels placed anywhere near where I'm working as an absolute final safety measure. I'd much rather destroy some alloys than die should every other element fail.

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Parts bought

Floor to sill panels - the mx5 restorer... These were hard to find as no search function but pre bent steel ready to weld in betweenn the floor and sill where my massive rust holes are. They are £18 each so well worth it.

Sill and arch kit...

Automotive lighting Automotive design Hood Font Motor vehicle

·
layabout
2,475 Posts
Tools I'm using
Angle grinder and cutting discs, twisted wire discs
add in a decent & sharp wood-chisel (or two;))