Mazda MX-5 Miata banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Guys,

I am looking at buying an MX-5 I have found. Went to check on the MOT status and it has a few minors. As I am new to the MX-5 car scene I was wondering if you could help me. The car is a 1991 Eunos 1.6. Issues are as follows:
  • OSF Upper Suspension arm ball join duct cover severely deteriorated.
  • Surface corrosion to suspension components
  • Brake pipe corroded front to rear
  • Surface corrosion to rear inner sills.

I have done alot of work to my previous car however I am not happy getting into welding new sills. I also dont have the funds to start paying the big price tag for new sills. Any tips or advice?

Many thanks in advance,

Jack

layabout
OSF Upper Suspension arm ball join duct cover severely deteriorated.
Common, new dust boots are cheap & easy to swap.

Surface corrosion to suspension components
again common, 30 year old components...
rear lower wishbones can rot and snap but all others seem to be strong.
New & new Geniune Mazda wishbones are available (y)

Brake pipe corroded front to rear
cheap& easy to replace.

Surface corrosion to rear inner sills.
surface or deeper?
any help?

they're old cars now, either previously welded (both good & bad馃槻 ) or will need attention...
do not bee fooled by fresh paint or underseal - be cynical about whats hidden behind it:unsure:

whats the reg number / what area is it as someone may know the car or be local and maybe be able to help you look it over?

Rich.

Registered
'surface corrosion to rear inner sills' would be my biggest worry. Maybe see if they'll let you poke a borescope inside the sills to check on the internal condition. I'd want to check on how thorough the tester had been. Surface corrosion on the outside will probably mean corrosion internally, but how much?