Mazda MX-5 Miata banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Evening

I picked up my fantastic Mk1 5 yesterday morning and couldn't be happier with it. Details of the car are here My link - I haven't taken any pics yet as I've been too busy driving it

However, there are a few very small issues that I could do with some advice on, as I'm new to these lovely little cars:

1. Electric windows barely move at all, but (with engine running only) will eventually get to the bottom..... I've read snippets about removing the centre console to get to a switch, anyone have a link to how to do this?

2. After spending far too long with the roof down on the M6 keeping up with my wife in our diesel repmobile, what are the recommendations for a rear windshield thingy?

3. Speakers - luckily my car has the rear shelf speakers (Clarion) as the front ones are shot - what size would I need for replacements? Are they standard 6.5" coaxials?

4. There is a fairly large amount of vibration between 60 and 70, I assume this is down to wheel balancing, or is it some kind of MX5 temporal flux issue that's common to them all?

5. The driver's door catches at the top edge and needs a good slam to close. The previous owner mentioned this to Supercarclassics when he bought it and they told him it was normal - is it, or is it a droopy door hinge?

I think that's all, but the good news is that the car is perfect apart from the small things above and drives like a dream. I had great fun on the twisties around Royston in the dark last night with the roof down and heater on and again in the sun today - I even managed to get a sunburnt forehead

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·