Mazda MX-5 Miata banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Bought a mechanically sound MK2 but it has severe paint dulling/oxidisation. Small dots of metal visible in various places all over the car but no flaking/rust or bumps, it's still smooth for the most part but a fine grit over the rough parts should smooth it out.

I don't want to bust out the money for a full respray as I want to drive it for a bit and get a feel for what I want done. I was however thinking of wrapping it.

I've measured it up and about x14 1-1.5m rolls of wrap should be enough, which puts it in £260-£400 range depending on the colour/vinyl quality.

Thoughts? I've got plenty of experience invisiframe wrapping mountain bikes, so similar techniques on a much smaller scale :).

·
Registered
VVT swapped NA & TD04 turbo NB
420 Posts
Wrap is supposed to be applied to a prepared surface free of defects blah blah at least that's what everyone says

But I've seen wrap applied to all sorts of surfaces without issues. I think as long as the paint is not going to flake off (bear in mind you need to heat the surface as push relatively hard with a credit card to smooth)

Worth also remembering that wrap doesn't hide blemishes, it enhances them, if the surface isn't completely 1 contour, e.g. there's a divot or crack in the paintwork then the wrap will just magnify this ten fold.

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Worth also remembering that wrap doesn't hide blemishes, it enhances them, if the surface isn't completely 1 contour, e.g. there's a divot or crack in the paintwork then the wrap will just magnify this ten fold.