Mazda MX-5 Miata banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

Registered
VVT swapped NA & TD04 turbo NB
No worries! Like I say, not an expert but I've been modifying and driving my NA for best part of 12 years now, so I'm familiar with what works well and what doesn't with it. You could certainly speak to some suspension manufacturers but for a custom set you'll be into some serious dough I imagine! The Gaz's are probably a really good set, but geared for flat handling and grip instead of slip angle, so might not yield the results you're after. On the plus side P6000's are pennies, especially in 14's so you could probably whack a set on and go at it without much to lose! Sounds like you're after a stiff chassis and soft suspension and low grip tyres which is the opposite of what most people are after so no wonder you're getting funny looks! 馃槀

As for ITB's, you know they make sense! I'll be getting a set of ZX10r throttle bodies fitted to mine in a few months time which will hopefully take me from 155bhp to somewhere in the region of 170bhp with any luck. And they sound brilliant of course which doesn't hurt!
do it for the noise, not the power.

What engine do you have that's at 155bhp?

Registered
Same as yourself by the looks of things, VVT swapped NA! It's been a great swap so far, but now I'm getting a hankering for a bit more pep and the sound of course as well!
Eventual aim is to do headwork and cams to aim for the 185bhp mark. That'll be a skim, port and polish and maybe valves depending, but no bottom end work, and that'll do me I reckon as it's only for B road blasting. No track work for me!
Interesting - what ECU are you running? you don't happen to have a dyno print do you?

I had originally planned to go down the ITBs route but having wrestled with multiple issues on the car, I'm only just now getting to a point where it's being tuned properly to bring it back to an OEM feel. My love for wanting to throw money at ITBs has dwindled xD

Registered