Mazda MX-5 Miata banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi.

I'm a Mx5 newbie looking to buy my 1st Mx5 automatic (only drive auto' i'm afraid) thanks for earlier advice from Nutz members. Anyway I have been told by MX5 Motors that air conditioning is a problem effecting both Mk1's & 2's is this the case and that to fix would be pretty costly? I am now thinking of maybe just getting a Mk2 as they have heated windows!!! The car they have on offer is this http://www.mx5motors.com/images/MX5%20for%20sale/index.html#stockone the silvertone automatic at the bottom for 2700. But he said that they would test the car today he thinks the A/C works 50/50 and ask the owner to pay to fix it. I have a 3 yr old do I need A/C plus I would be using this car everyday.

I do like this one (by the way not my postcode)on for 2900 open to offers serviced last year partial service history, tiny scuff on boot she said (how much would it cost to repair)also the interior seats have frayed a bit o the edges. http://www.autotrader.co.uk/classified/advert/201015356690130/sort/priceasc/usedcars/price-to/4000/body-type/convertible/transmission/automatic/make/mazda/page/3/postcode/bs44gr/radius/1500?logcode=p. This lady owner is based in Tamworth, Staffordshire - anyone know someone who could inspect the car for me as I live down near Bristol happy to pay (within reason).

·
Registered
177 Posts
I bought my car in Queensland and brought it here after 18 months.

In 5 years I've only ever used the a/con. once (except for the monthly run to keep the seals lubricated) and only then because I refused to put the top up!

·
Previous Grand Master
2,536 Posts
Well im not 100% sure and I could be wrong but so far it looks like im the only one so far, who is qualified to answer this thread .... no disrespect guys but....