• Please log in to reply
32 replies to this topic

#1 JD13

JD13

One post wonder

• New Members +
  • 8 posts

Posted 12 June 2020 - 07:18 PM

I was out at a track day on Wednesday of this week (Mallory) in my charged mk1, and had real problems in the wet. The track was wet and slippery (constant drizzle, but not heavy rain) and my back end struggled to grip on the corners - so much so that I spun on the first sighting lap hairpin when going very slowly. I'm new to track days (this was my third) so am not sure what the problem is. Could it be that the car is too low (it's a low as I can get it with rolled arches) - the wishbones are pointing up, so far from horizontal. The camber is the minimum I can get it with the car sat so low. Pressure in the Nankang ns2r tyres (when cold) was 30psi. There is however a slight stretch on the 15x8 rims. The Meister R coilovers were set to very hard, but didn't make much difference when I adjusted this to be very soft. Oem ARBs. The car is intended to be a track only car, so just want the best ride height for track use. Am very happy with tyres in the dry, and am led to believe they are also good in the wet. Is it the height that is likely to be the problem (and having it as low as possible is not the best idea), or is it the mild stretch on the tyres - any sensible suggestions welcome!

#2 Quinvy

Quinvy

Phil.

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1785 posts

Posted 12 June 2020 - 08:11 PM

I'm no expert, but having the wishbones facing up can't be good? And I can't imagine you have much travel at the back?

#3 JD13

JD13

One post wonder

• New Members +
  • 8 posts

Posted 12 June 2020 - 09:01 PM