Best Rods And Pistons To Use On Turbo Bp4W - Forced Induction & N/A Power Mods - MX5Nutz Forum

These ads only show for users who are not registered or logged in

Photo

Best Rods And Pistons To Use On Turbo Bp4W

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 123brez

123brez

One post wonder

• New Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 03 January 2021 - 07:13 PM

Hi im just in the process of stripping a BP4W engine down to rebuild for a turbo conversion.

Just wandering if anyone can recommend some rods and pistons for the build which i'm hoping to get to around 300-350bhp and want it to be reliable.

I'm also wandering which head gasket to use and oil pump. 

Sorry i'm new to mx5's. I have been reading up but unsure what CR etc I want to be going for.

Cheers

#2 boosted

boosted

Advanced Nutzer

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1870 posts

Posted 03 January 2021 - 09:30 PM

Id head to the Bofi website see what there selling or give them a ring.

Sent from my SM-N950F using Tapatalk

#3 Cliddoris

Cliddoris

Made a start

• New Members +
  • Pip
  • 33 posts

Posted 08 January 2021 - 12:21 AM

https://bofiracing.c...x5-miata-alive/

For 300bhp I'd just replace the bearings, uprate the rods for something cheap and cheerful like max speeding rods, I'd keep stock pistons and use the money for a harmonic damper as they're a weak point.

But that article is worth a read.

I don't know which model mx5 you have, but realistically around 300+ bhp you should be looking at a 6 speed box also.

If it were me I'd be doing the following for 300bhp

Full gasket/seals
Max speeding rods
Acl bearings
Stock pistons
Arp head studs
Boundary oil pump
Harmonic damper
6 speed box

If you're looking the higher end of your goals then you should also be looking at pistons.
I imagine a stock head gasket is fine at those power levels, buy you could throw a comerica in there since it'll have to be changed anyway.

#4 jon

jon

Advanced Nutzer

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1665 posts